Kite Flying

AS A CHILD July/August vacation equated to limitless adventures in Torrecilla. Kite flying was one such exploit. My brothers Henry and Peter were among the older children who had the skill for creating kites with dried cocoyea fex (the stem of a coconut tree leaf), kite or brown paper, flour paste, and of course the tail which was made from fabric of some sort, and most importantly thread. A large spool of thread meant the kite will fly high, fly until it appeared like a speck in the sky.

I was one of the youngest children in the group, therefore, I always tagged along on my siblings heel. As a result, I was sent into the bush to retrieve kites when they ayoed, I was their gofer. A job I did not mind because at that age play was the essence of the day.

Among the children, my brother Henry was a master craftsman, he was the one who made from madbulls to chicki-chong kites, and of course, I was his little assistant who sourced the flour from the kitchen for the paste, cocoyea from the cocoyea broom and cloth from my moms pillow sack or bed sheet. I was a happy helper, because afterwards, I got my own special kite. Besides, I was the envy of the other children who surrounded him while they patiently awaited his creation. What a beautiful memory.

What is your kite flying childhood memory?

10 thoughts on “Kite Flying

  1. What a memory you’ve awakened, and reminded me of my tomboy days making and flying kites. An experience every child should have at least once in their lifetime. At this moment, it takes me back and I can vividly see my kite soaring to new heights as I wiggle, dock, and lag it. Oh! what a wonderful joy to behold.
    ~ Thanks for the memories!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this article…. I was able to visualize the entire scene and felt the emotions of the writer.

    I enjoyed this piece.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.